I should not wear my heart on my sleeve
Because when I do I leave open for all to see
I should not wear my heart on my sleeve
Because it becomes like a bullseye on a tree.

I should not wear my heart on my sleeve
Because it attracts vultures and thieves.
I should not wear my heart on my sleeve
Because wounded I will forever be.

I should not wear my heart on my sleeve
Because it blinds the way I see.
I should not wear my heart on my sleeve
Because it is too easy to take advantage of me.

I used to be proud that you knew me
I was the same no matter where we walked
I used to be proud that what you see is what you get
No punches, no backhands, no hidden agendas

I should no longer wear my heart on my sleeve
Because you have hurt me so badly
I should no longer wear my heart on my sleeve
Because it is too easy for you to see me

The Father says,
“You must wear your heart on your sleeve
Because that is how I use you
for people to see me.”

Unfortunately I can’t not no longer wear my heart on my sleeve
Because I feel the liar I would be
No longer would I be me
It’s impossible I can’t not no longer wear my heart on my sleeve

©2017 MARK BLAIR GLUNT – USE ONLY BY PERMISSION.  Please repost, but don’t plagiarize.
Give credit where credit is due, always.
Leave a Reply

